2022.12.21 – Please Answer 2022

What’s meant to come will always come. Becoming a normal person again, I was diagnosed with the Wuhan pneumonia last week; no, it’s COVID-19; no, it’s coronavirus infectious disease; no, it’s the coronavirus common cold (I’ll update the term as required by the storyline and authorities).

I originally intended to write a “hardcore” article as usual, but upon reflection, I felt it would be too self-righteous and not respectful enough to the power of nature. Instead, I should take this opportunity to confront my own insignificance. Besides, with the year-end approaching and many people likely entering holiday mode after the World Cup, my readers would probably need a break even if I didn’t.

Coincidentally, I received a “Please Answer 2022” chain letter in Matters, threatening me with misfortune if I didn’t reply. So, cunningly, I submitted the same piece twice, using the chain letter to fulfill my weekly report obligation as well.


1. 2022 is coming to an end, what’s the one thing you want to remember most?

Reuniting with high school teachers and classmates in a small American town.

I’ll spare you the details, as they are just trivial chitchats. In fact, the importance of this seemingly insignificant event lies in reminding me of what I had forgotten – that life also has aspects without public nature, not pursuing meaning, and even being “meaningless,” such as gardening, hobbies, desserts, and housework.

These trivial things may not be meaningful in themselves, but the connections they create with people are.

2. In the third year of the pandemic, the daily life of every city and person has started to change. What have you lost this year? And what have you tried to recover or rebuild?

It actually happened earlier, but I guess I discovered and strongly felt it this year – I hardly watch the news anymore. At least, this has been the year with the least news consumption since I learned languages.

This is supposed to be my answer to what I’ve lost. Of course, I’m answering: I lost the news. The news is lost here.

Of course, I have not ignored those journalists who continue to play their roles and face difficulties in the most adverse environments to establish new outlets. On the contrary, my respect for them has further increased.

3. Please describe someone or something you encountered this year that you care about.

Hikari Mitsushima.

Yes, I watched First Love too, and I was captivated, drunken and disoriented. As for Hikari Mitsushima, my resistance as an uncle is zero.

My generation grew up watching Japanese dramas, like “Love Generation,” “Long Vacation,” and “101 Proposals” — if you think I’m going to brag about how many I’ve watched, you’re mistaken. I haven’t seen any of them. I can’t quite explain why, but it was probably because I happened to experience some typical life events at that age (pretending not to remember), and I was feeling down for a while (pretending it was a short time), not wanting to watch anything.

When I discovered First Love on Netflix, it had just been released and hadn’t gone viral yet. I decided to watch it not because I have a good taste, but because it struck a nerve with me. Maybe it was the vibe of Love Letter, or perhaps it was the call of Hikaru Utada, or maybe it was some buried detail that resonated with me. For example, if the title were only in Japanese as “初恋” and the promotional photos featured young actors (which would not be a detail but a mortal sin), I would have skipped it altogether.

I didn’t plan to analyze the editing, foreshadowing, props, or other aspects of First Love since YouTubers have talked them to death. Anyway, I was captivated early on by Hikari Mitsushima’s performance in the ill-fitting driver’s uniform, which was supposed to be unattractive but conveyed the character’s disconnection with life.

In no time, I willingly accepted the unrealistic pure love, the clichéd scenes, the trite plot, and indulged in the visual, musical, and sensual feast brought by Hikari Mitsushima. The slightly controversial ninth episode, I took it as an optional p.s. that could be there or not; it wouldn’t make a difference. I wouldn’t mind rewatching the last three minutes of the eighth episode ten times, a scene that I knew what would happen but was still heart-wrenching due to Mitsushima’s performance.

Thank you “First Love” and Hikari Mitsushima for allowing me a brief respite, providing me with small yet certain happiness that I can revisit anytime, making up for the imperfections I missed in my youth.

p.s. When talking about nostalgia, I used to think about the 70s and 80s, at most the 90s. Suddenly I realized that what I’m reminiscing about now are the years after the millennium. I wonder when I’ll finally unseal the time capsule containing Hikaru Utada’s First Love, other CDs, and miscellaneous items stored in my mini-storage.

4. In 2022, was there a moment when you felt intense emotions? How did you eventually deal with them?

I’m not one for intense emotions, but am famously known for my facial paralysis. Rather than dealing with intense emotions, I might need to avoid numbness and not get used to it.

Of course, numbness is often the result of trying to cope with intense emotions.

If you insist on asking how I deal with emotions, you can refer to the piece I wrote a year ago titled “Super Earthling“.

5. In the past year, can you mention a viewpoint influenced by others?

None. Choose one of the four reasons:

A. Reading too few books and not watching enough in-depth commentary
B. Algorithms of social media are keeping people with different opinions away from one another
C. Everyone has given up, speaking their own mind, with no intention or ability to influence others
D. All of the above

6. Compared to last year, what changes have occurred in your relationship with your body? Do you prefer your body now?

I’ve experienced a complete collapse from head to toe.

My vision is getting blurry; the dentist warned that my molar might need to be extracted; neck pain is a frequent issue; my left shoulder is difficult to extend, and I realized “back scratcher” is not redundant; when I stand up after bending down, my right knee hurts so much that it’s embarrassing to try to get off the top level of a bus quickly; various body indexes… Oh, right, I think the doctor asked me to follow up on something after my physical examination the year before, but I forgot.

Thanks to BioNTech, my bout with the virus wasn’t too serious. I just had to drink water and sleep (well, it sounds like I don’t usually need to drink water and sleep). I bought a box of painkillers on a whim but didn’t take them for several days, regretting not keeping the receipt to return them. There’s too much paperwork in Taiwan, and my pockets are always filled with receipts and invoices within a day or two.

Not taking medicine is not only because I don’t feel much pain, but also because I rarely take medicine to begin with, to the point where I haven’t even learned how to swallow pills properly. As for whether it’s because I take too few medicines that I don’t know how to swallow them or vice versa, it’s hard to say.

All these signs clearly indicate that my body is like a worn-out car; it can still move, and it can even run downhill like a wild AE86, but if I don’t proactively get it checked, it will be towed away at some point.

I will follow up in 2023, as I don’t want to die just yet.

7. Please share a new area you discovered or continued to cultivate this year.

I absolutely don’t have the time or ability to explore new areas, so I continue to cultivate the “three blankets of freedom”: financial freedom, publishing freedom, and democratic freedom.

Even if it’s just three blankets, weaving them well is already too much, as my abilities are very limited. Therefore, a major focus in 2022 is to summarize financial freedom through the book “Moneyverse: How money works in the multiverse” and begin to practice publishing freedom.

8. The book/movie/photo/quote I’d like to share this year.

There were many good films this year, and it’s even more delightful that Hong Kong movies have regained their vitality. Of course, in terms of output and box office, we are still far behind the so-called “Oriental Hollywood” era, but I don’t care about that. It’s better to have fewer films. After all, what’s the point of having a hundred Hong Kong movies a year if they’re all similar? I’d rather Hong Kong movies maintain low production but create their own unique features, especially the unique issues, scenes, or textures of this place.

But if I had to choose one to share, I’d like to say a few words about Evangelion: 3.0+1.0 Thrice Upon a Time. Although Thrice Upon a Time is a movie from last year, I patiently waited for it to be released in Hong Kong before watching it on the big screen at UA6, no, i mean Movie Town.

Watching Thrice Upon a Time and other chapters of the new theatrical version feels neither like watching a new movie nor revisiting an old one, but more like catching up with an old friend, saying “long time no see,” chatting about the past, and asking, “What if back then…, what would have been a different ending?”

I’m not sure if others feel the same way, but it’s clear that the audience isn’t very young, and there are no parents bringing their children along to watch (if there are, it’s probably the children accompanying the parents). It’s a bit like watching a Ekin Cheng concert, with an unspoken understanding among the audience.

The “what if back then…” mentioned above could be personal choices or jokes of fate, leading to another possible world. For example, I used to like Asuka, but in the possible world of Thrice Upon a Time, I liked Misato more. I don’t know how to analyze this change in myself. Although I don’t rule out the possibility that it’s simply because I’ve reached the age of being an uncle, no longer longing for young girls and learning to appreciate mature women, I vaguely feel that there’s a deeper reason.

Animation isn’t made by “shooting,” so it can’t tell different stories like Blade Runner through editing and eventually give loyal fans a satisfactory “final cut” version. Over the past 20+ years, EVA has gone through TV series, two theatrical versions, and several other versions. This time, with ample time and budget, the story is told completely, and an end is arranged for each major character, leaving no lingering doubts or regrets.

I remember that before the entire credits played at the end, not a single person left the huge theater. When the last name appeared and the lights turned on, it seemed like everyone couldn’t react, unable to accept that this journey had truly come to an end, wondering what to do.

I suddenly mischievously felt that, over the past 20 years, the work owed the audience a perfect ending, and the audience owed the work a sympathetic analysis. It turns out that this is also a beautiful regret.

We need to owe each other; otherwise, how can we reminisce?

9. Fill in the blank: In 2022, ______ Matters.

Freedom

But then again, it’s not just about 2022.


The end.

Extended reading

  1. Please answer 2019:Days are long but decades are short
  2. Please answer 2020:裸辭迎新歲
  3. Please answer 2021:斜槓大叔與暢泳小鴨

My articles are not put behind a paywall and are all open for reading. If you like this article, please collect its Writing NFT to support writing and preserve journalism.


Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2022.12.21 – 請回答 2022

該來的總是要來。做回正常人,上週確診了武漢肺炎,不,新冠肺炎,不,新冠病毒傳染病,不,新冠感冒(如有劇情需要,定當配合當局持續更新)。

本打算如常寫(熱血)硬派文章,但想想覺得太自以為是,不夠尊重大自然的力量,還是趁機面對一下自己的渺小。況且,年近歲晚,世界盃後恐怕很多人已經進入假期模式,我不休息恐怕讀者也得休息。

正好,我在馬特市收到「請回答 2022」連鎖信,恐嚇我不回覆會帶來厄運。於是狡猾地一稿兩投,以連鎖信同時權充週報。


1. 2022 年就要結束了,請記錄一件今年你最想記下的事情。

在美國小鎮跟中學老師、同學聚舊。

細節就免了,反正都只是極度瑣碎的亂聊。事實上,這件小事之所以重要,正正在於它提醒了我已經忘掉的,生活上也存在著沒有公共性,不追求意義,甚至很「無謂」的瑣事,比如種植、嗜好、甜品及家務。

這些瑣事本身可能沒意思,但因此而跟人產生的鏈結,卻會變成意義。

2. 疫情第三年,每座城市、每個人的日常開始變得不同。今年你失去了什麼?又試圖恢復、重建什麼?

實際上發生得更早,但發現、強烈感受到應該是今年吧,我幾乎完全不看新聞。至少,這是我學懂語言以來,看得最少新聞的一年。

這算是在回答麼,問題是我失去了甚麼。當然是在回答:我失去了新聞。這裡失去了新聞。

我當然沒有無視繼續留守崗位,和在最惡劣的環境迎難而上「辦報」的新聞工作者。相反,我對他們敬意更高了。

3. 請描述一位今年遇到的,會令你牽掛的人或物。

滿島光

是的,我也看了《First Love》,也看醉了,頭暈轉向。對於滿島光,大叔的抵抗力為零。

我輩都是喝日劇奶水長大的,《Love Generation》、《Long Vacation》、《101 次求婚》——如果你以為我要曬出看過多少,你錯了,我要說的是我竟然一齣都沒看過。要說為甚麼,我也說不上來,大概是當時正好遇上那個年紀很典型的人生經歷(假裝記不起),消沉了一陣子(假裝時間很短),甚麼都不想看吧。

在 Netflix 發現《First Love》時它才剛推出來,還沒爆紅,就鎖定要看了。不是我的眼光很好,而是它觸動到我的哪條神經了。或許是《Love Letter》的感覺,或許是宇多田光的呼喚,又或許是埋得更深的細節在感召。比如,如果劇名沒用上英文而只叫《初戀》、劇照用上年輕演員(這其實不是細節而是死罪),我會直接跳過。

我沒打算分析《First Love》的剪接、伏線、道具等各種,YouTuber 都講到爛了。反正,開場沒多久就被迷住了,明明那衣不稱身的司機制服很難看,配合滿島光的演出,感受到卻是也英跟生活的格格不入。

不消一會,我就乖乖地接受純愛的不現實,橋段的老土,劇情的俗套,盡情地享受畫面、音樂和滿島光帶來的聲色味盛宴。略帶爭議的第九集,我當成一個補完的 p.s.,可以有,但是沒了也沒差,我不介意重看十次第八集最後三分鐘,那段明知會怎樣發生,卻被滿島光演得夭心夭肺的 MV。

感謝《First Love》,感謝滿島光,讓我稍事休息,以隨時都能翻看的小確幸,彌補年輕時錯過的小缺陷。

p.s. 以前說懷舊,總是想到七八十年代,頂多是九十年代。忽然發現,現在懷的,已經是千禧後的舊。還把宇多田光的《First Love》、其他 CD 和雜物存在迷你倉的我,不知何時才會去解開時間膠囊的封印。

4. 2022 年,有沒有什麼時刻讓你感受到強烈的情緒?最後是如何與之相處的?

我沒有強烈情緒的,出名面癱。相對於怎樣跟強烈情緒相處,可能我更需要的是避免麻木,唔好慣。

當然,麻木往往就是試圖跟強烈情緒相處的結果。

硬要問我怎麼跟情緒相處的話,可以看我一年前寫的〈超級地球人〉

5. 過去一年,你能說出一個被他人影響的觀點嗎?

從缺。原因四選一:

A. 太少讀書和看深度評論
B. 演算法讓觀點不同的人避開了對方
C. 所有人都已放棄治療,各說各話,沒打算也沒辦法影響別人
D. all of the above

6. 相比去年,你與身體的關係發生了什麼變化?你會更喜歡現在自己的身體嗎?

從頭到腳全面淪陷。

眼睛越看越朦;牙醫警告大牙可能要拔掉;後頸作痛經常事;左肩膊難以伸展,初次理解到不求人並不多餘;屈曲後站起來右膝好痛,演出來不及從巴士上層迅速下車的窘態;身體各種指數… 對了,前年體檢醫生好像要求我跟進點甚麼,忘了。

托復必泰鴻福,染疫的我問題不大。就是喝水,睡覺(咦,怎麼說得好像平時不用喝水睡覺似的)。胡亂買了盒止痛藥,卻放著幾天沒服用,都後悔沒保存好收據去退換。台灣的紙本作業實在太多了,總是一兩天就被各種收據發票塞滿口袋。

沒吃藥除了因為沒怎麼覺得痛,也是因為我本來就絕少吃藥,誇張得連怎麼嚥藥丸也還沒學會。至於是因為太少吃藥所以不會嚥還是反過來,就不好說。

各種訊號都在清楚說明,我的身體就是一台「錢七」,是還能動沒錯,下坡時甚至可以像台暴走的 AE86,但再不主動入廠檢驗,就會由拖車代勞。

會在 2023 跟進,暫時還不想死。

7. 請分享你今年新發現或持續耕耘的領域。

絕對沒時間沒能力開拓新的領域,持續耕耘自由三幅被:財務自由、出版自由、民主自由。

即使來來去去只是三幅被,要編好就已經太多了,我能力很有限。所以 2022 年的一大重點是透過《所謂「我不投資」,就是 all in 在法定貨幣》,小結財務自由,同時開始實踐出版自由。

8. 今年最想分享的一本書/一部電影/一張照片/一句話。

今年的好戲很多,更可喜的是港產片回復生氣。當然,以產量和票房來說,跟所謂東方好萊塢那個年代還差很遠,但我毫不重視這些,產量少一點更好,況且如果每部都差不多,一年一百部港產片有甚麼意思。我寧願港產片維持低產,但拍出自己的特色,尤其是這個地方獨有的議題、場景或者是質感。

但要找一部出來分享,我想說兩句的反而是《新世紀福音戰士新劇場版:終》。《終》雖然是去年的電影,但我乖乖等到它在港上映,才在 UA6,不,Movie Town 的大屏幕觀賞。

看《終》及新劇場版的其他篇章,感覺既不像看新電影又不是重看舊片,卻更像是跟老朋友聚舊,說一聲別來無恙,聊昔日的種種,問「假如當時…,會有怎樣不一樣的結局。」

我不確定其他人是否有這種感覺,但看得出觀眾都不怎麼年輕,更完全沒有父母帶著小孩一起看(真有的話,相信也是小孩陪父母看)。有點像看鄭伊健演唱會,觀眾之間有種心照不宣的默契。

以上說的「假如當時…」,可能是個人的選擇,也可能是命運的玩笑,都會帶來另一個可能世界。比如以前一向喜歡明日香,在《終》這個可能世界,卻更喜歡美里了。我不知道怎樣分析自己這個轉變。雖然不排除單純是到了大叔的年紀,不再依戀少女而懂得欣賞熟女這種猥瑣的心理,但我依稀覺得,有深層次一點的原因。

動畫不是用「拍」的,沒法像《Blade Runner》般透過剪接說出不同故事,最終給忠粉一個圓滿的「final cut」版本。EVA 廿多年來,經過電視版、兩次劇場版等多個版本後,這次以充足的時間和預算,把故事完完整整再說一遍,而且為每一位要角都安排好終站,不再留有懸念,不再留下遺憾。

我記得,片尾工作人員名單全部播放完畢前,偌大的戲院沒有一個人離開。到名單最後一個名字出現,亮燈,大夥好像反應不過來似的,一時間不太能接受,這趟真的完了,怎麼辦。

我忽然作賤地感到,廿年來作品欠著觀眾一個完滿的結局,觀眾欠著作品一顆分析的同情心,原來也是一份遺憾美。

我們要互相虧欠,要不然憑何懷緬。

9. 請填空:2022,___ Matters.

Freedom

不過,又豈止 2022 而已。


延伸閱讀

  1. 請回答 2019:Days are long but decades are short
  2. 請回答 2020:裸辭迎新歲
  3. 請回答 2021:斜槓大叔與暢泳小鴨


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a Reply