Newsletter Issue 100: Why I Write

This is the 100th issue of the “Sociology of blockchain” weekly newsletter. Please allow me to “take a day off”, not to talk about blockchain, not to talk about technology, but to talk about writing itself.

I want to tell you, and thus remind myself, why I write, why I write every week, and why I keep writing.

June 4: To Be Continued

Obviously, persisting in writing is not for the sake of making money. This is not being arrogant, but a reality—there are plenty of jobs that make more money. Why would I choose writing if it was just about earning money?

Having said that, it’s very important to me to prove that writing can be a livelihood. It’s also important to establish a direct connection with supporters, so I still have to try my best to encourage everyone to subscribe: subscribe before May 20th with an annual fee of 50 USD, and you will receive the NFT book 《天工開物 · 栩栩如真》 worth 37.5 USD as a gift.

Paid subscribers, besides getting a Writing NFT for every article, unlocking ChatCKX and the Drifting Classroom book club, can also participate in irregular activities. “Feng Shui man deceives you for ten or eight years”, the writer here fulfills his promises instantly, books the whole venue and watches a movie with Hong Kong subscribers. On June 4th, 1830 Golden Scene Cinema, each paid subscriber is eligible for 2 tickets for “To Be Continued”. The number of tickets is limited, first come first served. If you are interested, please reply to the email to reserve your seat.

For subscribers in Taiwan and other regions, I’m sorry that I don’t have the capacity to interact with you in the physical world for the time being. After all, I only have a few dozen “global paid subscribers”. I won’t forget you all, and I look forward to giving back to everyone, whether you’re in Taiwan, the UK, or scattered around the world.

Writing is a Training for Thinking

Every week after I finish an article, I feel exhausted.

I’m not saying this to gain sympathy. On the contrary, it may make me seem overstated or incompetent. Most people wouldn’t think that writing a few thousand words is a big deal, and perhaps reading a few thousand words is even more impressive. I only mention it because it’s the truth.

To live up to readers’ attention, I demand that each of my articles provide insight, a new perspective, or at least some new knowledge. Perhaps I put too much effort into writing, always consuming a lot of energy, making myself very tired. It’s like a mediocre baseball player, longing for a home run and tensing up his whole body, gripping the bat and swinging desperately, not realizing that the key is actually in mastering the timing and angles. If brute force can hit the ball to the outfield, it’s already pretty good.

Coming to the AI era, the above phenomenon is even more pronounced. With a couple of magic prompts, and an article of a few thousand words that looks alright will be produced. Ever since ChatGPT came out, every time I finish an article, I question myself, could this article be written by ChatGPT? I even try to write a few magic prompts to see if the work produced by ChatGPT in a minute, compared with what I spent ten hours or even two days writing, is better or worse. For now, boldfaced “for now”, I judge that my articles are slightly better than those of AI, but I would never assert that AI will not surpass me in the future.

I even think that as long as the appropriate model is used, with the 1000+ articles and over two million words that I have accumulated, current AI technology can already write articles in my style by feeding them into machine learning. No one has done this yet simply because I am not a famous author. For people like Mr. Michael Chou of Daodu.tech, someone has done it. The reason I haven’t done it myself yet, besides not being in a hurry to let AI take over my work (what’s the rush, it’ll be fine as long as it’s sorted out before my death), is even more because the significance of writing personally is not just about the final text, but also the process of writing, and even more so because the text is written by this body of mine, it belongs to my thoughts, and I myself gain something in the process of writing.

Imagining how smart AI can ultimately be is hard, but imagining it surpassing individual abilities is easy. It’s like how we find it hard to estimate how fast a vehicle can go beyond the speed of sound, but when it comes to surpassing the world record for 100 meters human run, technology has long done it. As long as we accept the fact that individual abilities are very limited, it’s not surprising that tools surpass humans, it would be surprising if someone could run faster than a car.

We all walk slower than cars, but we all have to walk every day. Even if we don’t commute, we have to exercise deliberately for the sake of health, otherwise we will rapidly deteriorate, lose muscle, and our bodies will get worse. In the not-too-distant future (actually today), most people’s writing abilities will not match up to AI’s, but we must continue to write. Otherwise, once we lack training in thinking, our abilities in deduction, induction, imagination, and logic will all deteriorate.

The AI era has arrived, and writing is not because only we can write, but for us to be able to keep writing.

Writing is an Interaction with the World

In English, there is a term “IRL”, which stands for “in real life”. It has become particularly popular during the pandemic. For example, an IRL gathering means to meet face-to-face.

I don’t really like this term, not because I hate the physical world. I enjoy nature and am accustomed to the city, and I still go out every day even during the peak of the pandemic, frequenting various cha chaan teng. No, the truth is that I spend much more time in cha chaan teng during the pandemic than before, because under “normal” circumstances in Hong Kong, cha chaan teng don’t welcome customers who order only a tea set but occupy seats for hours to write articles. The reason I don’t like the term “IRL” is because it seems to imply that online interactions are fictitious.

Chinese has a long history and is very profound, but when it is forced into modern technology, it can easily cause misunderstandings. In Chinese, we use the words “真實” and “虛假”, but in the modern era, what is physical (實) is not necessarily true (真), and what is digital (虛) does not mean it’s fake (假). Often, interactions in the physical world are superficial and pretentious, while interactions in the digital world are more profound and sincere. I have discussed this in detail in “Words Misunderstood – Virtual”, opposing the notion of using the term “virtual” to generalize digital concepts.

There have been many times when readers meeting me “IRL” for the first time were surprised that I didn’t match their impression of me at all. This is because “IRL”, I’m quiet and have a poor social HP that can only last for five minutes, while in the digital world, although I’m not very opinionated, I at least have thoughts on specific topics and express them actively.

I have many “IRL” friends who always keep a respectful distance from my articles. Although they praise them, they ignore them. “It’s well written, but I don’t read it because I don’t understand it” is the most common evaluation. The speaker may sincerely commend, but the listener can only feel helpless and disappointed. It’s not about me being so great that I understand things they don’t, but rather about me being so unsuccessful that I can’t even meet the most basic requirement of popular science writing.

Another familiar phrase about expression and communication is, “Why don’t you just say it directly if you have thoughts?” Encouraging direct communication is certainly right, but I don’t understand why saying it is considered direct, while writing it is indirect? Different concepts are suited to different mediums, and different people excel at different media. Some people speak, some write, and others choose to express themselves through different forms such as drawing, photography, theater, dance, etc. If all messages should be “just said directly”, what is the value of art at all?

Many of my friends and almost all of my family members don’t read my writings. I will never and can’t force others, but on the other hand, writing is my way of expressing myself, and I can’t and won’t change myself to satisfy others. Through words, I express my views on things and record my own life. Text is the medium through which I interact with the world.

My blog is called chungkin Express, and not just because of the movie Chungking Express.

Writing is the Practice of Freedom

The predecessor of the “Sociology of blockchain” newsletter was my column #decentralizehk in the Hong Kong Apple Daily.

102 weeks ago, the editor suddenly told me that the newly published article was the last issue of #decentralizehk. A week later, Apple Daily was discontinued, so I decided to self-publish and upgrade the bi-weekly column to a weekly. In the 0th issue published on June 25, 2021, I said, “Although I no longer have the nagging prompts from my former editor, I will still continue to write #decentralizehk earnestly, even upgrading it to a weekly, gradually adding other content outside of single articles, to carry on and spread it.”

For more than twenty years before that, I had been regularly publishing articles in different media: several years in Hong Kong Economic Journal, almost ten years in Ming Pao Sing Kei Yat Seng Wood, seven years in Stand News, until two years ago when I “self-media-tized”. Due to various reasons, many have lost their “territory” and manuscript fee, going from being employees to becoming self-employed “boss”, which has long become the norm in Hong Kong. In front of many predecessors and prolific writers, I am just a small potato, and there is nothing special about me. The above is purely a historical account.

During the recent half-year period, Zunzi’s political cartoons in Ming Pao was criticized by name by the Hong Kong government six times, and his column of forty years was discontinued. There are those who comment as usual, saying that as long as the criticism is based on facts, there is no problem. Some even attached Zunzi’s recent cartoon satirizing mainland tour groups in Hong Kong, saying that they don’t believe real tour groups behave like that. These two people interpret satirical cartoons with “realism”, which is even more humorous than Zunzi, just short of saying that the drawings don’t look like them enough, that their heads are not that big. In an interview about the incident, Zunzi said, “Firefighters cannot run away when they see a fire, so we should stay here and record our time.” As a junior, I am full of respect. The firefighting officer goes straight ahead, and those of us who are responsible for setting up ladders and pulling hoses, how can we leave our posts?

In fact, compared to those who are entangled in lawsuits, directly suppressed, and capable of writing and commenting but unable to go online, I am among the very fortunate few. I have the internet, and even the ability to bypass the Great Firewall; I have the resources to set up my own website, and even to publish articles to the blockchain, preserving news. I can still, tremulously, continue to express myself in a very limited space.

After the shutdown of the Apple Daily, Jimmy Lai, Cheung Kiu-king, Chan Pui-man, Lam Man-chung, and other senior executives were arrested and are still awaiting trial in jail. As a small individual like me, I can’t change their fate at all, which makes it hard for me who is outside the wall to enjoy life. Even without the editor’s urging, even without the support of the manuscript fee, to extend the life of this newsletter that has evolved from a column, to continue writing as best I can, to continue advocating for freedom, is the smallest contribution I can make to them and society.

No, I’m still making myself sound too great. The act of continued writing is not for anyone, it is merely my minimal practice of freedom, nothing more.


Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

週報 100 期:我為甚麼堅持寫作

這是《區塊鏈社會學》週報第 100 期,請容許我「請假一天」,不談區塊鏈,不談科技,談談寫作本身。

我想透過告訴你,藉此提醒自己,我為了甚麼而寫,每週寫,一直寫。

6 月 4 日,尚未完場,To Be Continued

顯然,一直寫並非為了賺錢,這不是清高而是現實——更能賺錢的工作多的是,為了賺錢我幹嗎要選擇寫作。

話雖如此,於我而言證明「寫作可以當飯吃」很重要,跟支持者建立直接連繫也很重要,因此我還是得聲嘶力竭地鼓勵大家付費訂閱:5 月 20 日前以年費 50 鎂訂閱,可獲贈價值 37.5 鎂的《天工開物・栩栩如真》 NFT 書。

付費訂戶除獲得每一篇文章的 Writing NFT,解鎖 ChatCKX 及漂流教室讀書會,還能參與不定期活動。「風水佬呃你十年八年」,寫字佬馬上兌現承諾,即時包場跟香港的訂戶一起看電影,6 月 4 日 1830 高先戲院,每位付費訂戶可領 2 張《尚未完場》戲票,數量有限,送完即止,有興趣的請即回覆郵件留座。

台灣以及其他地區的訂戶,很抱歉我暫時沒有能力跟大家在物理世界互動,畢竟我的「全球付費訂戶」只有幾十人。我不會忘記你們,期待回饋在台灣、英國以至離開了卻散落四周的大家。

寫作是對思考的訓練

每週寫完文章,我都覺得筋疲力盡。

這樣說非為博同情,反而只會顯得我誇大或是很不濟,一般人才不會覺得寫幾千字有甚麼了不起,搞不好讀幾千字才更厲害。說出來純粹因為,那是事實。

為了對得起讀者的注意力,我要求自己每篇文章都能提供洞見、新的觀點,或者最起碼是新的知識,但也許是我寫作用力過度,總是耗費大量精力,把自己搞得好累,好像技巧平平的擊球手,渴望擊出全壘打而全身繃緊,死握球棒拼命揮動,殊不知重點其實在於掌握時機和拿捏角度,蠻力能打到外野就算不錯了。

來到 AI 年代,上述現象更加明顯,問對兩句咒語,幾千字似模似樣的文章就出來了。自從 ChatGPT 出來後,每次寫完文章我都質問自己,這篇文章 ChatGPT 能否寫得出來,甚至會試著寫幾句咒語,看 ChatGPT 以一分鐘交出的作品,跟我花了十小時甚至兩天寫出來的,孰優孰劣。暫時,粗體的「暫時」,我判斷自己的文章還是比 AI 略勝一籌,但我絕不會斷言 AI 往後不會超越自己。

我甚至認為,只要使用合適的模型,以我積累了 1000+ 篇文章 2 百多萬字餵給機器學習,現時的 AI 技術已能做到以我的風格寫文章。還沒有人做這件事,純粹因為我不是大作家,像《科技島讀》的周欽華先生,就有人去做了。而我自己還沒去做這件事,除了因為不急著讓 AI 接手我的工作(急甚麼,臨終前搞定就好),更加是因為親自寫作的意義,不只在於最終的文本,更在於寫作的過程,更更在於,文本是由這副臭皮囊寫出來,是屬於我的想法,而我本人在寫作的過程中,有所得著。

想像 AI 終極有多聰明很難,但想像它超越個人能力卻很容易。這就像我們很難估計交通工具在超音速後最快能有多快,但要超越人類 100 米世界紀錄,科技早就做到了。只要我們接受個人能力非常有限這個事實,工具超越人類就毫不奇怪,有人跑得比汽車快才奇怪吧。

我們都走得比汽車慢,卻都必須每天走路,不需通勤也得刻意運動「攞苦嚟辛」,否則就會急速退化,肌肉流失,身體變差。在那不太遠的將來(其實就在今天),大部分人的寫作能力都比不上 AI,但我們必須繼續寫,否則一旦缺乏思考訓練,演繹、歸納、想像、邏輯,各種能力都會退化。

AI 年代已到,寫作不是因為只有我們才能寫,而是為了我們仍能寫。

寫作是跟世界的互動

英文有所為「IRL」的說法,意指 in real life,在疫情期間特別流行。比如,IRL gathering,是出來當面聚會的意思。

我不太喜歡這個說法,不是因為我討厭物理世界,我喜歡自然也適應城市,即使疫情高峰也每天外出,流連各家茶餐廳。不,實情是疫情期間我待茶餐廳的時間比以往長得多才對,換上「正常」的香港,茶餐廳才不歡迎光顧一個快餐,在卡位坐上幾個小時寫文章的顧客。不喜歡「IRL」的說法,是因為它說得好像網上的交流是虛假似的。

中文源遠流長,非常奧妙,但硬套進現代科技卻容易造成誤解。中文說「真實」、「虛假」,但來到現代,有實體的不一定為真,數位的不代表是假。很多時,物理世界的交流表面而矯飾,反而數位世界內的交流更加深刻而真摯。對此,我曾在〈誤解辭典——虛擬〉詳細討論,反對以「虛擬」一詞概括數位的概念。

試過很多次,首次「IRL」遇上我的讀者,會驚訝於我跟他們心目中的印象完全不符,此無他,因為「IRL」我寡言面癱,社交 HP 只能維持五分鐘,而數位世界中我雖然不會意見多多,但至少在特定議題會有想法,而且積極表達。

我有很多「IRL」好友總是對我的文章「敬而遠之」,雖然讚賞有加,但卻忽略不讀。「寫得很好,但我不看,因為看不懂」是最普遍的評價,言者或許是真心稱譽,聽者只覺無奈和失望,說明的不是我好厲害,懂得他們不懂的,而是我好失敗,連科普的最基本要求都沒達到。

關於表達與溝通,另一個耳熟能詳的說法是,「有想法為甚麼不直接說」。鼓勵直接溝通固然沒錯,但我就是不懂,為甚麼說出來是直接,寫出來就變成間接了?不同的概念適合不同的載體,不同的人擅長不同的媒介,有人說話,有人寫作,也有人選擇繪畫、攝影、戲劇、舞蹈等不同形式。如果甚麼訊息都「直說就好」,那藝術還有甚麼存在價值。

不少好友和幾乎所有家人都不讀我的文字,我永遠不會也沒法強迫別人但反過來,寫作是我表達自己的方式,我不可能也沒法為滿足別人而改變自己。透過文字,我道出對事情的看法,也紀錄自己的生活。文字是我跟世界互動的媒介。

我的部落格叫作 chungkin Express,不只是因為重慶森林而已。

寫作是對自由的實踐

《區塊鏈社會學》週報的前身,是我在香港蘋果日報的專欄 #decentralizehk。

102 個禮拜前,編輯突然告訴我,剛刊出的文章是 #decentralizehk 的最後一期。一週後,蘋果日報被停刊,我決定自行出版,並把雙週專欄提升成週報。於 2021 年 6 月 25 日發出的第 0 期,我說:「雖然失去老編循循善誘的催稿,我依然會繼續用心寫 #decentralizehk,甚至把它升級成週刊,逐漸在單篇文章外加入其他內容,延續下去,擴散出去。」

那之前的二十多年,我一直在不同媒體定期發表文章:在《信報》數年,《明報》星期日生活近十年,《立場新聞》七年,直至兩年前「被自媒體」。因為各種原因失去「地盤」和稿費,從打工仔變成個體戶,升格成「老闆」的作者多的是,早已成為香港的常態,在眾多前輩和健筆面前,我只是小薯,並無任何特別之處,以上純粹陳述歷史。

尊子在《明報》的政治漫畫大半年間六度被港府點名批評,四十年歷史的專欄停刊。有喉舌如常評論,說只要批評符合事實就不成問題,有前特首附上尊子近日諷刺陸客本地團的漫畫,說不相信現實的旅行團這樣做,兩位以「寫實主義」詮釋諷刺漫畫,比尊子更加幽默,就差沒說畫得不夠像,自己頭部沒那麼大。尊子就事件接受訪問,表示「消防員不能在看見火災時逃跑,所以我們應該留在這裡,記錄我們的時代」,我這後輩肅然起敬。消防隊目勇往直前,我們負責架雲梯和牽水喉的,豈有擅離崗位之理。

事實上,相對於官司纏身的、被直接打壓的、能寫擅評但沒法上網的,我是十分幸運的少數。我有互聯網,甚至能翻牆;我有資源自架網站,甚至能把文章出版到區塊鏈,保育新聞。我依然能夠在極其有限的空間中,戰戰兢兢,持續表達。

《蘋果日報》被關停後,黎智英、張劍虹、陳沛敏、林文宗等高層被捕,至今仍在獄中候審,蟻民如我,無法改變他們的命運絲毫,讓身在牆外的我難以有心情享受生活。即使再沒有編輯敦促,再沒有稿費支撐,為這個從專欄演化成的週報延續生命,盡我所能繼續寫作,繼續倡議自由,是我唯一能為他們和社會做的,最微小的付出。

不,還是把自己說得太偉大了。持續寫作並不為誰,不過是我對自由最起碼的實踐,僅此而已。



Comments

在〈週報 100 期:我為甚麼堅持寫作〉中有 2 則留言

  1. 「TaSa」的個人頭像
    TaSa

    堅持到做一件利己利人既事真係好重要

    我每星期都會期待你既文章,因為依家好睇既文章一日比一日少,受歡迎既文章通常都係速食吸睛無咁有深度,

    1. 感動,感謝

      也許會認真讀文章的讀者也是,一日比一日少

      不過,我們都知道,數字不是最重要的

發佈留言

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *