A 30-Second Read on Moneyverse: How Money Works in the Multiverse

Moneyverse: How Money Works in the Multiverse

  1. The most basic form of financial freedom is having passive income that’s sufficient to support your lifestyle.
  2. The next level of financial freedom involves choosing among various currencies based on needs.
  3. The ultimate financial freedom is the liberty from having one’s assets stripped away.
  4. The higher the level of financial freedom, the more significant the role of cryptocurrencies becomes.
  5. Whenever there’s a little extra money, it must be invested—there’s no avoiding it.
  6. Invest with minimal time and effort, freeing up time for work and life.
  7. Maintain discipline, avoid leverage, and regularly invest in Bitcoin over four years.
  8. Financial freedom is not the ultimate goal but a condition for living out your ideals.

Facing requests for a “brief introduction”,  a “one-minute manual”, or an “explain like I’m five” about a concept, I often find myself at a loss. While I believe readers should be more patient in reading and appreciating works (not just mine, but all of humanity’s), I agree these requests are reasonable. My reluctance stems from my own limitations. I’m somewhat better at elaboration, but poor at summarization. Given an hour, I can explain; given a minute, I shall surrender.

During a publishing meeting at Nowhere Publishing, the chief editor, Annie Zhang, asked if the Chinese title for Moneyverse, “財富自由主義” (A rough and literal translation would be “The ideology of Financial Freedom”) was suitable. I liked it, but feared I couldn’t live up to it, considering historical ideologies have been profound. With courage, I accepted this favored Chinese title, adding the subtitle “How Money Works in the Multiverse”. Still, the title put me into deep contemplation of  the essence of “財富自由主義” that I advocate. Surely, I can’t just say “the answer lies within the book” to skirt around.

In contrast to the dazzling efficiency of feeding an entire book of 100,000 words to ChatGPT and getting a summary in 10 seconds, I spent quite some time to sink into my thoughts and came up with the above eight key points of “財富自由主義” which are also included in the new book. Condensing the ideology into just 149 words, it’s short enough a manifesto to fit into a tweet (or is it now an “x” we say?), or a read in 30 seconds, finally meeting the challenge of writing an “elevator pitch”.

If it’s too short and plain for you, I would suggest a read through of Moneyverse: how investment works in the multiverse and let me explain over the course of an entire book.

Purchase a Signed Copy


Support local bookstores by purchasing Moneyverse: how money works in the multiverse at major bookstores in Taiwan and small bookshops in Hong Kong.

In Taiwan, you can find it at Nowhere, Eslite, Books.com.tw, Momo and others.

In Hong Kong, available locations include Forest Books, word by word collective, Art and Culture Outreach (ACO), Hunter Bookstore, Book Punch, Hong Kong Reader Bookstore and Have A Nice Stay (HANS bookstore). I’ve heard that Mount Zero has already sold out, but I’ll see if I can send a few more copies their way before they close.

P.S. In 2023, Hong Kong artist Chan Kin Fai sprayed graffiti with the word “freedom” in several places and was sentenced to a 12-month probation order. The charge was beautifying Hong Kong and elevating the level of art.

web3dom – of web3 and freedom is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.


Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

30 秒讀完「財富自由主義」

財富自由主義

  1. 最基本的財富自由,是被動收入足以支撐生活。
  2. 進一步的財富自由,是因應需求選擇各種貨幣。
  3. 終極的財富自由,是免於被剝奪資產的自由。
  4. 財富自由的層次越高,密碼貨幣的角色越重要。
  5. 金錢上稍有餘裕就必須投資,無需也無法避免。
  6. 以最少時間和心力投資,騰出時間生產和生活。
  7. 嚴守紀律,避免槓桿,定額定投比特幣四年。
  8. 財富自由不是終極目標,而是實踐理想的條件。

以上為《區塊鏈社會學》週報 #145,是史上最短的週報。如果有誰說我的文字總是很長很嘮叨,請用以上例子替我辯護,謝謝 🙏🏼

執筆之際,我已抵達倫敦,身處海德公園旁的 cafe 開著 MacBook,呷著檸檬茶裝文青(拜託,文青才不喝 0T 好不好)。4 月 1 日格林威治時間 15:00,我會在 Wembley Park 舉辦《財富自由主義:金錢的多元宇宙》新書分享會,有興趣請儘早報名,畢竟活動可不是在溫布萊球場舉行,而是在 Wembley Park 旁邊的一個小場地,座位非常有限。


常被要求「簡單介紹」、「以一分鐘說明」、「向五歲小孩解釋」某個概念,我總是耍手擰頭。我雖然認為讀者應該多給耐性閱讀和欣賞作品(不只是我的讀者,倒不如說是全人類),但同意以上請求都很合理,推卻主要因為我力有不逮。演繹我還擅長一些,歸納我則很差,要我用一個小時解釋還可以,一分鐘的話我只能投降。

飛地出版會議中,總編輯張潔平問我的書叫名「財富自由主義」好不好,我說好是很好,但怕自己擔當不起,歷史上的 xx 主義都是很厲害的啊。鼓起勇氣接受了這個很喜歡的書名,加上副題「金錢的多元宇宙」後,我苦思良久,財富自由主義主張的到底是甚麼,我總不能以「答案就在書本裡」蒙混過關吧。

相對於醒目仔把整本書十萬字丟給 ChatGPT 花 10 秒歸納,我發呆了一大段時間沉澱,最後整理出以上 8 大重點,是為「財富自由主義」,收錄在新書。主義只有 149 字,短得幾乎能塞進一條 tweet(現在要說「一條 x」嗎),30 秒能讀完,總算成功滿足「以一程電梯時間解釋」的要求。

甚麼,又嫌太短太簡單?請出席 4 月 1 日的新書分享會,讓我以兩個小時細說,或直接閱讀《財富自由主義:金錢的多元宇宙》,讓我以一整本書解釋。


支持書店,請於台灣各大書店及香港各小書店購買《財富自由主義:金錢的多元宇宙》。

  • 台灣:飛地、誠品、博客來、momo 等。
  • 香港:森記、字字研究所、艺鵠、獵人、一拳、序言、留下;聽街坊說見山已經售罄,我看能不能趕及在結業前多送幾本過去。

p.s. 2023 年,香港藝術家陳勁輝於多處噴上「自由」塗鴉,被判 12 個月感化令,罪名是美化香港,推高藝術的水平


Comments

發佈留言

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *